Getting Paramiko To Work

I’ve had a lot of struggles getting Paramiko to work and today I’ve finally managed it.
Here’s my setup:

-bash-3.2$ cat /etc/redhat-release
 Red Hat Enterprise Linux Server release 7.1 (Maipo)

This is fairly important.

pip install paramiko

Didn’t work for me. Some Googling led me to believe I needed the python-dev package installed. So I tried:

yum install python-dev

This didn’t work, so I had to search for it. So I searched for it using:

yum search python-dev

The above is my new favourite command. It turned up:

$ yum search python-dev
 Loaded plugins: product-id, rhnplugin, subscription-manager
 This system is receiving updates from RHN Classic or Red Hat Satellite.
 ==================================================================================================== N/S matched: python-dev =====================================================================================================
 python-devel.x86_64 : The libraries and header files needed for Python development

I then did a:

pip install paramiko

And I was done!

Leave a Reply

